Donald W. Breck Award

IZA Protocol and Guidelines for Nomination and Selection of the Donald W. Breck Award Recipients

(Updated by IZA Council on July 14th, 2020, upon the Tokyo, Montpellier, Cape Town Protocol)

It is moved that there be established a Donald W. Breck Award Committee responsible for soliciting nominations with appropriate supporting documentation for recognizing the most significant contribution to Molecular Sieve Science and Technology made during the **five-year** period preceding January 1st of the year of the coming IZA Conference. The Award may be given to an individual or to a group. The award will consist of one bronze plaque acknowledging the awardee(s) contribution to molecular sieve science and technology, and the amount of US\$12,000 to be distributed equally among awardees (in case of multiple author contributions). A Breck Award will be given during each IZA conference (every three years).

The nominations shall consist of a 2-page nomination letter summarizing the findings and their merit during the five-year period preceding January 1st of the year of the coming IZA Conference for which the nominee(s) is(are) being considered. A list of max. 5 publications (from the scientific or patent literature) for which the nominee(s) is(are) considered *must* accompany the nomination. The nomination shall include *three* supporting letters from established molecular sieve scientists preferably from different geographical regions justifying their endorsement of the nomination.

The Donald W. Breck Award Committee is responsible for ranking the nominees and selecting three finalists for final consideration by the IZA council. The Award Committee shall consist of a non-voting chairperson and at least five members appointed by the IZA Council. The committee's chairperson is to be appointed by the IZA Council on the **last day** of each conference and the additional committee members shall be appointed by the council in consultation with the committee's

chairperson no later than the end of the calendar year of the current IZA conference. The Award Committee should ensure that the acceptance of nominations is advertised in the first circular of the upcoming Conference. The Breck Award Committee is entrusted to solicit nominations in order to ensure that more than one proposal is received. Members of the Award Committee who might be nominated for the Award should resign from the committee and be replaced by a substitute appointed by the IZA Executive Board.

Award nominations shall be submitted electronically as one PDF file to the Breck Award Committee Chairperson at least 90 days prior to the beginning of the upcoming IZA Conference. *The Breck Award Commission will indicate which publication(s) among the submitted works (paper or patent) is (are) recognized as the most significant contribution(s) to Molecular Sieve Science and Technology made by each of the three selected candidates. The reasons for the choice should be justified.*

The IZA Council shall discuss the nominations of the three finalists recommended by the Breck Award Committee at the IZA Conference. Any IZA council member nominated for the award shall not attend the Council meeting devoted to the discussion and the vote for the Awardee. Following this discussion, the IZA president shall conduct a ballot within the IZA Council to select the Awardee. Each member of the Council present shall vote for *only one* candidate in a secret ballot. The vote is repeated until a finalist receives the majority of votes and, thus, is selected as the Breck Awardee. The Award will be announced by the IZA President at the General Assembly and presented at the Conference Banquet.

The IZA Council members are required to keep the nominations information and any related discussions confidential. No sitting IZA Councillors or Breck Award Selection Committee member shall endorse, by providing support letters, or nominate candidates for the award.